resolutions? eh.

5 Jan

i’ve never been one for new year’s resolutions. i don’t have the discipline to stick with them for more than a week. but this year i’m going to do my best. and i figure if i post them publicly i’m more likely to stick with them. so here they are in no particular order.

 1. read one non-murder mystery a month. be it self help, chick drama, relationship building, whatever. i’m going to read something that doesn’t involve people dying. this could be the toughest for me.

on tap this month: julie & julia. i haven’t seen the movie in hopes that i will be able to disect the differences between print and film and how much i love meryl streep and amy adams.

2. get healthy. with my job and lifestyle i’ve gotten lazy. it’s so easy on the road to eat fast food and work/study instead of hopping on the treadmill for 30 minutes. i owe it to myself, my husband, and my future kids (like 10 years into the future 🙂 ) to commit to a healthy lifestyle now. i want to participate in a 5k. notice i did not write run, but participate. if my husband can do triathalons i can do a least part of one, right?

alex and i are trying this together and when the weather warms up a bit, chloe gets extra walks. i’m going to try out a few gyms over the next couple of weeks to find a good fit.

i’m also going to put skin care and taking advantage of the well person and dental visits i get as well. again, making these things a habit instead of sporatic.

3. random acts of kindness. whether a card in the mail, email, random phone call, trinkets & postcards i want to make sure the ones i love know that i love them.

 so here’s to a healthy, happy 2010!

3 Responses to “resolutions? eh.”

  1. rosemary January 6, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Great resolutions, Kate! It’s so hard to stick to them, but I know you can do it! I can help in the “non-murder mystery” catagory! Good luck!

  2. Holly January 7, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I like the idea of acts of kindness. I’ve actually thought about doing this myself.

    About the 5-K…I’m doing the Reedy River Run again the first weekend in March. I’m getting a large group together to “participate” if you’re interested.

  3. Mom January 18, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Very worthy and challenging resolutions! The random acts of kindness is my favorite..I think of people I care about but rarely just send a note and tell them I love them. And, it is never too early to take care of your skin, your body, etc…Invest some time in YOU!

Leave a Reply

