save the (lamp) drama for yo’ momma

5 May

so we’ve been searching for bedside lamps since, well, about this time last year. i found lots and lots of lamps i liked but the price tags were not conducive to my budget. add lamps to the list of things that can get absurdly expensive absurdly quickly. sigh.

we gave in last week and found two we liked enough to purchase — not the original idea i had in my head but i was happy. and then i went to homegoods. now for the record, i’ve been in homegoods no less than 400 times in search of their lamps. but today was different. on the day my white lamps from my previous purchase was slated for delivery i found two blue lamps i really liked. sure the color is a bit deeper, but i like the shape and that they’re, well, blue.

we’re a house divided here so i need some help:

please do not let chloe influence your decision

and both together

5 Responses to “save the (lamp) drama for yo’ momma”

  1. Barbara May 6, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    BLUE! Definitely the blue one!

  2. jacqueline May 6, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    I vote for the white. I am loving that shape!

  3. Holly May 6, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Hey…I thought marriage was about compromises? How about 1 of each?! Kidding…I like how the blue pops, but then the white seems to give you a little more height. I think I’d like the blue more with the white lamps’ shades. Yeah….I’m being picky, but I think it’d make the lamp look more substantial in your space.

    So the blue it is…

    • Mom May 6, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      OK…at my own risk, I like the white…I like the height and the shape. While the blue gives a lot of pop, it looks small and, to me, does not add any substance.

      Could you add a blue trim to the white lamp?

      Oh, Lois has no aesthetic comments…just which one gives off the best light.

  4. Rosemary May 7, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I like the white one b/c it’s a little bigger and taller making a better light to read by. However, it does kind of fade into the background. I don’t know what the white lamp is made of, but could you paint it blue? Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

