gym etiqutte

25 May

okay, i’m going to throw this out there. maybe it’s because i’ve never been an offical member of a gym. maybe it’s because i’m aparantly prudishly conservative, but gym nudity freaks me out.

yup, you read that right. i will never undertand standing buck neked blow drying your hair in front of a mirror in a locker room. in front of 50 or so of perfect strangers. it’s just the most odd thing to me. i’ve also noticed (because my jaw drops each and every time i walk into the locker room) that it’s not young folks, either. did my generation miss out on this gym tradition?

i’ve now got my locker room visits down to a science. eyes down. don’t look up. don’t look up. walk super fast and grab a towel. avoid eye contact. and i’m free. phew.

ps – anyone catch glee? best episode ever. my class told me that i look like lea michelle (aka rachel barry). outright compliment or backhanded i’m not so sure . . .

3 Responses to “gym etiqutte”

  1. Lindsey May 26, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    I do remember in middle school gym class they made the girls get naked and shower together. I guess maybe they were trying to teach us a lesson, I was always incredibly uncomfortable.

    I don’t mind changing quickly in a locker room from work to gym or gym to work clothes but I don’t hang out naked or in my underwear, I always put on some clothes before I do my makeup and blow dry my hair. I guess that lady is super comfortable letting everything fly. lol

    • katgar17 May 26, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      i don’t mind changing in the locker room, either but these women are just 100% more comfortable with their body than i will ever be!

      we never had to shower in middle school, i guess we were just super smelly. our poor teachers!

  2. Mom June 1, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    Not MY generation…it would be just too embarressing…not sure what kind of statement they are trying to make…or maybe they don’t want to get their panties and bras wet! I would think a towel wrap would be appropriate…throw them a towel! You are not being a prude…just using common courtesy!

Leave a Reply

