i’ve been bitten

22 Jun

by the running bug.

bwhahahahaha. bad joke. but at least i laughed out loud.

i’ve never been into exercising. in fact, i was just reminiscing last week how i remembered both times i worked out in college quite vividly. why would someone put the workout facility so far from my dorm? the nerve.

but lately i’m getting into running. i’m still no speedy gonzalez, but i feel my endurance and speed slowly increasing. i’m working my way to 8 miles for a half marathon relay in october and i want to run sub 10 and a half minute miles. to slowly increase mileage i’ve created a training plan and even trained on vacation. yes, in 100% humidity i did my first 5 mile run. and i drug alex along to boot.

we also did a “naked” run on the beach. get your minds out of the gutter. naked means no ipod, no shoes, just us taking it all in. and it was awesome. we ran about 3.5 miles and while difficult, it felt so good and you can’t beat the scenery.

so to put this into perspective here’s my nike plus graph from february:

and here’s may. i’m getting there. 🙂

2 Responses to “i’ve been bitten”

  1. Holly June 28, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I remember quite vividly a time back in Clemson when I asked you if you wanted to go running with me. You replied, “I don’t run.” Keep up the good work!

    • katgar17 June 28, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      i miss you holly! you’re still coming to race with me in july, right?!

Leave a Reply

