mini milestones

18 Aug

sunday night i accomplished two things i never thought i would do.

1) i ran 8 miles. and ran one hour of the consecutively. and at the end of that hour i felt good but walked a minute to prep for the last two.

2) i wore so-called booty shorts on this 8 mile run. i put booty shorts and sports bra running in the same group not because i don’t like when people wear them, i just never thought i would have the confidence to do so. i bought a pair saturday and wore them on sunday. and loved them. of course they’re lululemon and the fit is awesome. if i had a million dollars i would just wear lululemon all the time.

yep, that’s actually me modeling those shorts. didn’t know i was moonlighting as a fitness model did ‘ya?

so running for 8 miles is a little long. not like i want to die from exercise just time-consuming long. so i’ve had to boost up my itunes collection to keep me motivated.

here’s what is keeping me moving now:

not afraid – eminmen (this has been awesome for my long runs! a bit explicit for those with sensitive ears)

suddenly i see – kt tunstall

whipped into shape – legally blonde the musical (quite motivating, don’t judge)

paint it black – rolling stones

girls – beastie boys

blister in the sun – violent femmes

no scrubs – tlc

survivor – destinys child

run around – blues travelers

pump it – black-eyed peas

sober – pink

if anyone has super motivating songs i would love to hear ’em. long runs are just getting longer . . .

3 Responses to “mini milestones”

  1. Lindsey (silly runner) August 19, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    I love lululemon too! When we were in chicago I bought my first two items from them – a crop running pant and a tank top. I love them both and the materials are so amazing. I too would love to shop their exclusively but it’s really hard to justify the prices. Although, Charleston is getting a showroom soon so maybe I can get gift certificates for my birthday or christmas to help out.

    Oh yeah, and congrats on the 8-miler!

  2. Holly August 19, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    You should try Aguilera’s “Fighter.” That always keeps me going when I feel like I can’t make it.

  3. Rosemary August 19, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Good for you, Kate!! I really thought the photo was from a magazine. You’re looking good!!

Leave a Reply

